OWSD Announces 2022 Early Career Fellowship Recipients

2022 OWSD fellowship winners

The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD) has announced the 25 recipients of the 2022 Early Career Fellowship. These female scientists will receive funding of up to $50,000 to conduct research and establish research groups at their home institutions, in order to maintain a high level of research and attract collaboration from other scholars.

The funding for these fellowships is provided by Canada's International Development Research Centre (IDRC) and, for the first time, the Aspen Institute Italia. This marks the beginning of a partnership that aims to support and empower women in science from developing countries.

During the 3-year fellowship, fellows will receive training to develop leadership and management skills, build connections with public and private sector partners, and increase the impact and sustainability of their research through improved communication and outreach.

The OWSD fellowship program helps exceptional female scientists to establish and run significant research projects and build internationally recognized research centres within their current institutions. These institutions are located in 66 countries that OWSD has identified as being "scientifically and technologically behind," with 39 of them being in Africa.

Out of the 25 fellowship recipients, 17 are from Africa; they include:

Maria Helena Paulo António from Mozambique, Hazir Elhaj from Sudan, Astride Carole Djeuani and Luria Leslie Njoungang Yontchoung from Cameroon, Vivian Etsiapa Boamah, Mavis Agyeiwaa Acheampong and Mary Adjepong from Ghana, Marilyn Chepkurui Ronoh from Kenya, Alice Nabatanzi, Daphne Nyachaki Bitalo and  Saphina Biira from Uganda, Anna Haji Msigwa and Neema Mathias Mduma both from Tanzania, Edith Talina Luhanga from Rwanda, Eva Dora da Cruz João from Mozambique, Namaunga Kasumu Chisompola from Zambia and Piwai Tshuma from Zimbabwe.

Other winners are: Khongorzul Batchuluun from Mongolia, Margarita Ramona Ruiz Olazar from Paraguay, Subhangi Subedi and Supriya Sharma from Nepal, Samawansha Harsheni Tennakoon and Asha Dilrukshi Wijegunawardana Nahallage Dona from Sri Lanka, Maura Liseth Quezada Aguilar from Guatemala and Sadia Isfat Ara Rahman from Bangladesh.

Founded in 1987,OWSD is a programme unit of UNESCO based at The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) in Trieste, Italy. It is the first international forum to unite eminent women scientists from the developing and developed worlds with the objective of strengthening their role in the development process and promoting their representation in scientific and technological leadership.

Photo courtesy / OWSD

Article by Jedidah Mwangi